Saturday Situation: Link up your bookish posts & giveaways

pisatsit

Yay for the weekend!! It’s time for a new Saturday Situation, hosted by Candace at Candace’s Book Blog  and me. So, here’s the scoop: I’m going to set up two Linky’s. One for Giveaways that you want to promote and one for Posts that you want to promote. The posts can be reviews, discussions, rants, events you are planning, anything that you want people to read! I know there’s so many great posts out there that often go unread. Here’s your chance to tell the world! Feel free to link up to other bloggers posts as well! Let’s spread the love!

[Read more…]

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. MaasA Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
on May 5, 2015
Genres: Fantasy, New Adult
Format: ARC
Source: Amazon Vine
Goodreads
2 Stars

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

pireview

So, I feel like the only person who didn’t LOVE this book. I really wanted to. I adore Beauty and the Beast retellings. I’ve read and loved quite a few of them. But A Court of Thorns and Roses was not one of them.

My biggest issue with the book was that it felt agonizingly slow. So, so slow and repetitive. The first 200 pages seemed to be Feyre planning and thinking about escaping. It seemed like not much else happened. It was an effort for me to pick up the book and read it.

I did enjoy the chemistry between Tamlin and Feyre. This is a New Adult novel so it’s heavier on the sexual tension. I did feel like Feyre went from hating Tamlin and wanting to escape to wanting in his pants pretty fast. That might have been the only thing that happened quickly in the whole book.

I’m certainly the minority here. So many readers have loved A Court of Thorns and Roses already, but it wasn’t for me. I have no interest in continuing the series.

My Favorite YA Contemporary & Fantasy Authors

pittt

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the awesome people at The Broke and the Bookish

This week’s topic is: Top Ten ALL TIME Favorite Authors
I’m going to break it up into favorite contemporary and fantasy authors.

tttauthors

Since You've Been Gone by Morgan MatsonAnna and the French Kiss new coverEleanor & Park by Rainbow RowellTwo Boys Kissing by David LevithanTwenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler

1. Morgan Matson
2. Stephanie Perkins
3. Rainbow Rowell
4. David Levithan
5. Sarah Ockler

tttauthors1

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's StoneFinnikin of the Rock by Melina MarchettaGraceling by Kristin CashoreThe Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae CarsonShadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

6. J.K. Rowling
7. Melina Marchetta
8. Kristin Cashore
9. Rae Carson
10. Leigh Bardugo

Saturday Situation: Link up your bookish posts & giveaways

pisatsit

Happy Saturday, everyone! I hope you’re having a nice Spring weekend. It’s time for a new Saturday Situation, hosted by Candace at Candace’s Book Blog  and me. So, here’s the scoop: I’m going to set up two Linky’s. One for Giveaways that you want to promote and one for Posts that you want to promote. The posts can be reviews, discussions, rants, events you are planning, anything that you want people to read! I know there’s so many great posts out there that often go unread. Here’s your chance to tell the world! Feel free to link up to other bloggers posts as well! Let’s spread the love!

[Read more…]

Review: Things We Know by Heart by Jessi Kirby

Review: Things We Know by Heart by Jessi KirbyThings We Know by Heart by Jessi Kirby
on April 21, 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Goodreads
5 Stars

When Quinn Sullivan meets the recipient of her boyfriend’s donated heart, the two form an unexpected connection.

After Quinn loses her boyfriend, Trent, in an accident their junior year, she reaches out to the recipients of his donated organs in hopes of picking up the pieces of her now-unrecognizable life. She hears back from some of them, but the person who received Trent’s heart has remained silent. The essence of a person, she has always believed, is in the heart. If she finds Trent’s, then maybe she can have peace once and for all.

Risking everything in order to finally lay her memories to rest, Quinn goes outside the system to track down nineteen-year-old Colton Thomas—a guy whose life has been forever changed by this priceless gift. But what starts as an accidental run-in quickly develops into more, sparking an undeniable attraction. She doesn’t want to give in to it—especially since he has no idea how they’re connected—but their time together has made Quinn feel alive again. No matter how hard she’s falling for Colton, each beat of his heart reminds her of all she’s lost…and all that remains at stake.

pireviewTo be completely honest I didn’t think Things We Know by Heart sounded like something I would love. The topic just didn’t speak to me. I’ve loved Jessi Kirby’s other books so I thought I would give this one a shot too. I’m so, so thrilled that I did, because it was a fantastic, heart wrenching read.

I was pulled in so quickly by this book. The story starts over a year after Quinn’s boyfriend was tragically killed. Quinn’s grief felt incredibly realistic, but I never found it depressing. Probably because Colton quickly enters her life and he brought such light and happiness to the story (and to Quinn). Their feelings for each other blossom slowly. I was right there with Quinn feeling her guilt and hope. It was so easy to relate to everything she was feeling.

Things We Know by Heart kind of revolves on a lie…or a really big secret. It could have been easy to dislike Quinn because of the secret, or hold it against her, but Jessi Kirby handles her character so well. While Quinn got herself in such a tough situation, I couldn’t help but root for her and Colton’s happiness.

I guess you can tell that I really loved Things We Know by Heart by Jessi Kirby. I’ll never question reading one of her books again. Definitely add this to your summer reads list or beach bag. It’s perfect for it!

Waiting on Wednesday: The One Thing by Marci Lyn Curtis

The One Thing by Marci Lyn Curtis

 

September 8, 2015

“A soaring tale of life and love, of sacrifice and renewal, and learning to see people as they really are.”

Maggie Sanders might be blind, but she won’t invite anyone to her pity party. Ever since losing her sight six months ago, Maggie’s rebellious streak has taken on a life of its own, culminating with an elaborate school prank. Maggie called it genius. The judge called it illegal.

Now Maggie has a probation officer. But she isn’t interested in rehabilitation, not when she’s still mourning the loss of her professional-soccer dreams, and furious at her so-called friends, who lost interest in her as soon as she could no longer lead the team to victory.

Then Maggie’s whole world is turned upside down. Somehow, incredibly, she can see again. But only one person: Ben, a precocious ten-year-old unlike anyone she’s ever met.Ben’s life isn’t easy, but he doesn’t see limits, only possibilities. After awhile, Maggie starts to realize that losing her sight doesn’t have to mean losing everything she dreamed of. Even if what she’s currently dreaming of is Mason Milton, the infuriatingly attractive lead singer of Maggie’s new favorite band, who just happens to be Ben’s brother.

But when she learns the real reason she can see Ben, Maggie must find the courage to face a once-unimaginable future…before she loses everything she has grown to love.

Add it on Goodreads

This book sounds so unique! I’m very intrigued.

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.