Saturday Situation: Link up your reviews & giveaways

pisatsit

Happy Saturday everyone! It’s time for a new Saturday Situation, hosted by Candace at Candace’s Book Blog  and myself. So, here’s the scoop: I’m going to set up two Mister Linky’s. One for Giveaways that you want to promote and one for Posts that you want to promote. The posts can be reviews, discussions, rants, events you are planning, anything that you want people to read! I know there’s so many great posts out there that often go unread. Here’s your chance to tell the world! Feel free to link up to other bloggers posts as well! Let’s spread the love!

[Read more...]

Saturday Situation: Link up your reviews & giveaways

pisatsit

Happy Saturday everyone! It’s time for a new Saturday Situation, hosted by Candace at Candace’s Book Blog  and myself. So, here’s the scoop: I’m going to set up two Mister Linky’s. One for Giveaways that you want to promote and one for Posts that you want to promote. The posts can be reviews, discussions, rants, events you are planning, anything that you want people to read! I know there’s so many great posts out there that often go unread. Here’s your chance to tell the world! Feel free to link up to other bloggers posts as well! Let’s spread the love!

[Read more...]

Reading with Finn

readingwithfinnI hope this will be a new semi regular feature where I highlight some of the books Finn and I are enjoying.

 

Little Blue Truck by Alice Schertle

Beep! Beep! Beep! Meet Blue. A muddy country road is no match for this little pick up–that is, until he gets stuck while pushing a dump truck out of the muck. Luckily, Blue has made a pack of farm animal friends along his route. And they’re willing to whatever it takes to get their pal back on the road.
Filled with truck sounds and animals noises, here is a rollicking homage to the power of friendship and the rewards of helping others.

pireview

Little Blue Truck by Alice Schertle was the first book that I got my one year old to sit through. Finn still loves it weeks later. The story is so fun! I adore the rhythm of it and I practically know it by heart now, but I never get tired of reading it. Little Blue Truck and all his animal friends are a delight. The illustrations are gorgeous as well.

 

 

Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?

Eric Carle’s familiar illustrations of brown bear, red bird, yellow duck and the other endearing animals from his classic creation parade across the pages of this great interactive board book. As each page is turned, a new animal and its color are introduced, accompanied by Bill Martin’s singsong, rhyming question-and-response text to read aloud or listen to. There are sliding doors throughout the book, which children will just love to open, so they can discover what the next animal in this engaging story will be.

pireview

Finn really enjoys Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? We have the slide and find version and he loves sliding back the panels to see who is underneath. When we first started reading it he would laugh when we uncovered the teacher. That makes the book a winner in my opinion. Plus, I can remember having this read to me when I was in elementary school. It’s a classic!

Saturday Situation: Link up your reviews & giveaways

pisatsit

Happy Saturday everyone! It’s time for a new Saturday Situation, hosted by Candace at Candace’s Book Blog  and myself. So, here’s the scoop: I’m going to set up two Mister Linky’s. One for Giveaways that you want to promote and one for Posts that you want to promote. The posts can be reviews, discussions, rants, events you are planning, anything that you want people to read! I know there’s so many great posts out there that often go unread. Here’s your chance to tell the world! Feel free to link up to other bloggers posts as well! Let’s spread the love!

[Read more...]

Waiting on Wednesday (135)

Little Peach by Peggy Kern
March 10, 2015

In the tradition of Patricia McCormick and Ellen Hopkins comes this powerful novel, the riveting story of a runaway who is lured into prostitution by a manipulative pimp.

What do you do if you’re in trouble?

When Michelle runs away from her drug-addicted mother, she has just enough money to make it to New York City, where she hopes to move in with a friend. But once she arrives at the bustling Port Authority, she is confronted with the terrifying truth: she is alone and out of options.

Then she meets Devon, a good-looking, well-dressed guy who emerges from the crowd armed with a kind smile, a place for her to stay, and eyes that seem to understand exactly how she feels.

But Devon is not what he seems to be, and soon Michelle finds herself engulfed in the world of child prostitution where he becomes her “Daddy” and she his “Little Peach.” It is a world of impossible choices, where the line between love and abuse, captor and savior, is blurred beyond recognition.

This hauntingly vivid story illustrates the human spirit’s indomitable search for home, and one girl’s struggle to survive.

Add it on Goodreads
Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

Saturday Situation: Link up your reviews & giveaways

pisatsit

Happy Saturday everyone! It’s time for a new Saturday Situation, hosted by Candace at Candace’s Book Blog  and myself. So, here’s the scoop: I’m going to set up two Mister Linky’s. One for Giveaways that you want to promote and one for Posts that you want to promote. The posts can be reviews, discussions, rants, events you are planning, anything that you want people to read! I know there’s so many great posts out there that often go unread. Here’s your chance to tell the world! Feel free to link up to other bloggers posts as well! Let’s spread the love!

[Read more...]

Reading with a Thirteen Month Old

readingwithfinn

I have a secret, I’m a horrible mom. Terrible. Why? Let me tell you. For the first 12.5 months of Finn’s life he hated books. He couldn’t stand being read to. The first 6 months or so he cried at every attempt. Like books were the worse thing in the world. Then he just got angry. Angry that he couldn’t crawl away, angry that I wouldn’t let him eat the book. Angry that we were sitting. Just angry.

What did I do wrong?! I didn’t read to him enough while I was pregnant, right? That has to be it! Really, in all seriousness though, I was pretty sad that he didn’t like it. I always had a silly image of getting all snuggle-y with my baby and reading to him. Sooo not the case lol. I tried so many different tactics but he was just too busy. I eventually just started reading to him while he played across the room. I was desperate.

Then a couple of weeks ago we were playing in his room and I decided to give it a shot. I sat him on my lap and started Little Blue Truck. He sat still the whole time and I finished the entire book. The entire book! I don’t think that had ever happened before! I was so excited but I thought it was probably a fluke but we finished another, and then another. We’ve read lots of books every day since then. My heart might explode from happiness! He even likes one book so much that he makes me read it over and over. He laughs at them too!

Finn's bookshelf

Also, because I was so excited that he’s enjoying them now, we bought his very first bookshelf. I was too excited when I came across this at Target. It’s just his size and perfect! He loves to go pick a book out.

I really just wanted to share my happiness. It’s been a hard  13 months with no fun children’s books. Stay tuned for a post about what we’re reading!